top 8 – food-tastic sites of the week

10 Jul

Who doesn’t love food? If by some off chance, you don’t. Please stop reading because this post will probably not appeal to you in the least. Weekly, I search for great recipes, but also basic information about food, spices, cooking methods. My boyfriend and I are always trying to top our last successful meal. Sure, we have our favorites, but usually we make something different 2-3 times a week. I wanted to share some articles, photos and sites I enjoy with you this week.

100 Calories of Veggies

1. Summer fills my head with ideas for new recipes and some awesome veggies to saute. I enjoyed these photos of 100 calories servings of Summer veggies. Take a peek 🙂

Delicious Days

2. Delicious Days was one of Time Magazine’s 50 Coolest Websites. And I find it pretty cool myself. I’m loving the sleek design, but also the detailed posts about a variety of tasty treats. So deliciously described, you can almost taste them through your computer screen. Be sure to check out the favorites as there are some keepers there as well!

Cake Journal

3. I took a cake decorating class with my mom and sister last month and found it’s a pretty fun, but expensive creative outlet. I ran across Cake Journal recently and really love the detailed how-to’s and great recipes. Also, the decorating skills are pretty impressive.

Chocolate & Zucchini

4. Chocolate & Zucchini has been one of my faves for a while. The fun idioms are like a history lesson in cooking. I also enjoy the desktop calendar wallpapers. I hope you enjoy them too!

Tasting Table

5. Tasting Table is a free email subscription all about food! I love the logo for this site and only wish I lived in one of the top cities listed so I could received even more awesome food news! After you’ve subscribed, navigate to the Travel section to see if there is a food tour in your area and see the food-tastic spots chosen.

101 Cookbooks

6. 101 Cookbooks has A+ articles and A++ photographs. I love the unique spin on cooking this site brings to the table. Cooking is integrated so much into the author, Heidi’s life that her photos with non-food items never seem out of place. I can relate to the premise of the site, which can be read here. Can you?

Foodbuzz

7. See what’s buzzing in the food blog community of Foodbuzz! Tasty photography paired with Top 9 lists, Flavor of the Month and of course, recipes. All of this is contributed by regular people who enjoy cooking and baking. It’s what real people are eating, not fancy celebrity feasts.

Kraft Recipes

8. The most simple weeknight recipes can be found at Kraft Recipes. I’ve used these for large groups and weeknight dinners and they made my life a whole lot easier. Also, the recipe finder by ingredient is pretty handy.

I hope you find some great food to try from the sites I’ve listed. Please comment if you’d like to share some of your favorite places all about food!

2 Responses to “top 8 – food-tastic sites of the week”

  1. Frenchfoodfool July 10, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    I agree with the first ranks, but Kraft Foods? That’s a surprise.

    • stephanieburt July 13, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

      I know it’s a bit commercial, but it honestly has helped me out in a pinch. Thanks for taking time to read my post 🙂 Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

