Apple Adventure

3 Aug

Apple has a glorified monopoly on bad-ass computers. I’m a designer, so of course I opted for a macbook. The first exploration into our only local Apple store was amazing! The uncrowded store with bright, shiny new technology is enough to grab anyone’s attention. Also, I was purchasing my first mac, a very magical experience for me.

After about four years of nearly flawless service, my precious Apple won’t power up anymore. Aside from my laptop getting hot enough to boil an egg on, it has been a trusted sidekick in sharing my creativity and drive.

My mac now needs a doctor to revive it, so I headed to the Apple store, hoping the Genius Bar could restore my friend.

After entering the store, I realized I had entered a zoo, for people the don’t mind close quarters and semi-controlled chaos. Not realizing I needed an appointment, I confidently walked right up to stand in what I thought was the line for customer service. Nope, a guy armed with an iPad quickly asked if I was checking in for an appointment. Honestly, I was almost flabbergasted. Who knew you needed an appointment! After giving the guy in blue my information (I think it was his first day), he asked me to wait in the store.  Oh crap! Too many people, my personal bubble was about to be popped.

Thankfully, there was room for me to wait right next to the door. Pleased I’d found a chaos-free zone and could quickly exit if needed, I settled in with my smartphone, determined to get some work done (or tweets). About 45 mins later, another blue guy walks up and asks if I’m Stephanie. I’d only been in the store for an hour, could I be this lucky?! Sure enough, he was ready to take a peek at my problem.

As it turns out, my hard drive decided to go suicidal. Erased, everything! I thanked the Apple guy or genius as I’m guessing they like to be called. I believe I should be awarded with an Out-of-Apple-In-Record-Time-With-Computer-Now-A-Coaster Award. So much for getting that freelance work done. Round out my adventure, I’ll never go to Apple on the weekend, time to reinstall everything and I’ll never under appreciate my favorite IT guy at work!

4 Responses to “Apple Adventure”

  1. Todd H. Stevens August 3, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    What an interesting adventure! 🙂

  2. Jak August 3, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    There are few things in life I hate more than stepping into an apple store.

  3. Apple Fan August 9, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    Your blogs are always about fact and best products winning. Enjoy your blogs and are very informative.

Leave a Reply

