Five years of Advertising (Part I)

27 Jul

This past Sunday marked five years for me as a professional in advertising. Taking a look back at my journey, its been a long road. Starting at Morgan & Partners as an Agency Assistant and within a year, I was a Print Production Assistant, who sometimes got to update business cards designs. I’ve learned a lot in these past five years.

Most know Morgan was acquired by The Dalton Agency about four years ago, and as with most acquisitions I was definitely curious about how my position would transition. After talking with my boss at Morgan and with my future boss at Dalton, I realized I’d finally be able to put my design degree to daily use. Though I hadn’t “paid my dues” in the design world, I felt ecstatic for this opportunity! Finally I could tell people, “I’m a designer and I get paid to do what I love!”

As time flew by, I felt privileged to work on big accounts such as McDonald’s and the Jacksonville Jaguars. I have to admit, the first Jaguar Training Camp I attend since working for Dalton was awesome because hundreds of Jaguar fans were holding the roster I designed. Just for the record, I don’t think that feeling ever goes away for designers. We create things from usually nothing but copy documents and general client ideas. Its ours, like a carpenter finishing a new dining room table, we are proud to bring new, creative designs into the world that would otherwise be covered in Comic Sans and Papyrus if left to non-designers.

At Dalton, I was offered various opportunities to try new things, such as copywriting and social media. Though I enjoy writing, I found it difficult to focus on. I think I realized it more when most of my copy docs started in InDesign because I can’t stand using Word.

In 2008, Twitter piqued my interest. Finding like-minded creatives, sharing interesting links and getting underground news, as I like to call it, really fascinated me. In the beginning, I didn’t interact a bunch, just listened to what others were saying and posted fun things I found, mostly on NotCot.com.

Four months later, I was asked to starting tweeting for McDonald’s. A new product was about to be announced: McCafe! We wanted a way to connect with coffee lovers, provide awareness about the tasty new treats making their way to a store near you and lead tweeters to happinated.com, a microsite that included a game completely designed by the interactive department. About this time was when I realized, I thoroughly enjoy Social Media.

Since then, Dalton now has a Social Media department and I design freelance-style. It’s a big change especially since Social Media is still emerging as a valid avenue for advertising, but I welcome the challenge and can’t wait to see where it takes me.

4 Responses to “Five years of Advertising (Part I)”

  1. Ryan Paul Thompson July 27, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    how you’ve blossomed in such a short time….*tear* jk
    You’ve grown a lot professionally in a short period of time. Props to five years, and to being one of jacksonville, florida’s most skillful and prominent social media professionals (oh yeah, i guess advertising, too jk)!

  2. stephanieburt July 28, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    Thanks so much! I’m really happy with being in social media 🙂

  3. jumplittlelisa July 28, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    Congrats! Social media does have its place in the agency. I’m currently working a second social media internship, and I’m always digging for new marketing strategies and outlets.

    I really enjoy your blog as you give great information about working in an agency. I look forward to more entries! 😀

    • stephanieburt July 30, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

      Thank you, really appreciate your support. 🙂

Leave a Reply

