Top 8 – Animals that fascinate me!

13 May

Top 8 – Animals that fascinate me!

1. Lammergeier or Bearded Vultures are highly innovative especially when they are hungry. These massive scavengers popped up on my radar thanks to the Discovery Life series.

2. Cuttlefish I have to admit, I’m highly intrigued by the ocean as a whole, but this marine animal takes the cake. Their ability to camouflage and communicate by changing their skin color amazes me. I’m like a pyro watching a flame!

3. Platypus, in particular, the male platypus. Thank to a show about venom, I learned that platypus have hing leg spurs, but only the male’s spurs contain actual venom. Their venom is lethal enough to kill a dog and cause extreme pain in humans. Read more about the venom here .

4. Marmoset! To my knowledge, there isn’t a cuter animal in the world! The pygmy marmoset is especially fascinating, its like watching an action figure take life! If you’re local to Jacksonville (Florida), definitely check out this little guy at our zoo.

5. Stalk-Eyed Fly (again thanks to Discovery Life) You have to see this video! Not even sure how to describe it. Male Stalk-Eyed Flies swallow air to inflate their heads, which in turn.. oh just see for yourself 🙂

6. Starfish or Sea Stars have no brain. Starfish are very colorful, carnivorous creatures. They usually have 5 “arms,” but can have up to 40.

7. Anaconda: I’m thanking Luis Llosa for this one (He directed the movie). In any case, I’ve always been intrigued by snakes, but these mammoth beasts are at the top of my snake list!

8. Peacock, or Peafowl, this one is for obvious reasons. The pure beauty and extravagance of the male species is breathtaking. Their coloring is just fantastic.

Hope you enjoyed my 1st countdown. Please let me know what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

